India vs England Test & ODI Clashes – A History From 2004 To 2016

India and England have continuously been involved in bilateral clashes since 1932. This article has been compiled to present an overview of the contests that took place during the past decade or so.

2004 (Host- England)

It was a three-match ODI series prior to the ICC Champions Trophy. England made sure the series win in the first two matches they played. The last match of the series was way more interesting compared to the first two. The hosts had to chase 204 at Lord’s to whitewash India. They lost 6 wickets at the score of 62. Despite a good comeback from that position, they managed to make it a thrilling contest but in end, India prevailed and was saved from the humiliation of facing whitewash.

2005-06 (Host- India)

England was touring India with a full strength squad. They had one of the greatest Test batsman of their country, Michael Vaughan, as the captain. Likes of Marcus Trescothick, Andrew Flintoff, Mathew Hoggard, Ashley Giles made English look highly formidable against India. The first Test was a draw. Munaf Patel lead India from the front in the second match at Mohali by picking up seven wickets in two innings and earned a historic win for his country. Visitors turned the tables in third Test by winning with as big margin of 212 runs. Shaun Udal contributed big for his team by taking 4 wickets for 14 runs in the second innings.

India won the one-day series by 5-1.

2007 (Host- England)

India didn’t win any series in England from 1986 till 2007. They achieved a series win in England after such a long time by winning the second match at Trentbridge. The first Test at Lord’s was a draw due to bad weather. The visitors were in a danger to lose the match, but rain washed away the play of last day and saved them from losing it. Third and the last match of the series ended up in a draw as well and made India the series winner.

England won the ODI series that season by 4-3.

2008-09 (Host- India)

It was a seven-match ODI series. India just thrashed England in the first five matches by winning each of them convincingly. Virender Sehwag and Yuvraj Singh were absolutely devastating on the English side. A terrorist attack in Mumbai on the 26th November made the last two matches of the series canceled.

India won the Test series by 1-0.

2011 (Host- England)

A tour of a nightmare for India. Kevin Peterson’s double-ton at Lord’s in the first Test is still considered as one of the greatest innings in Test cricket. Rahul Dravid became the first Indian to include his name on the honors board by hitting an elegant century. Matt Prior’s fabulous hundred in the second innings got the hosts to a decent lead. Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Graeme Swann, and Chris Tremlett did the rest with the ball to win the match.

The visitors looked good for a while in the second Test. But lost their way after the first day and lost the match as well. Alaister Cook played a historic 294 in the third Test at Edgbaston. England crushed India with an innings defeat and ranked the no.1 Test team in the world.

It was none different at the Oval in the fourth Test. Bell was outstanding with his double-century. Rahul Dravid was asked to open the innings for India. He carried his bat through with scoring a magnificent 146 but couldn’t avoid the follow on. Sachin Tendulkar was very close to his 100th International century on the last day but got out on 91.

England won the one-day series by 4-0 as well.